Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Early Career Scientist Symposium, March 28, 2015

Saturday, March 28, 2015
12:00 AM
East Hall

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce this year's Early Career Scientist Symposium, to be held Saturday, March 28, 2015 in East Hall on the campus of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.  The theme this year is "Ecosystems within organisms: ecology and evolutionary biology of the microbiome."

Our outstanding lineup of keynote speakers and emerging leaders will address topics such as the role of the microbiome in disease processes, micro-evolution, and development, meta-community theory in host-associated communities, multi-host multi-parasite systems, and eco-immunology. The research focus ranges from bacteria to metazoans and from fitness effects on host organisms or their microbiota to the downstream effects of microbiomes on ecosystems.

We are delighted to announce our keynote speakers: Seth Bordenstein, associate professor, Departments of Biological Sciences and Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology, Vanderbilt University and Georgiana May, professor, College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota. Our outstanding early career speakers have been selected and you can read more about them on our ECSS2015 website (with further information forthcoming).

Register to attend

Registration is free of charge but we strongly encourage you to register so we may provide adequate food and refreshment.

Graduate students from all universities and all disciplines are invited to present their work during a lunchtime poster session, and can indicate so when they register.  University of Michigan EEB students are particularly encouraged to show off their own work and seek feedback from the scholars in attendance.  Poster specifications.  

Lunch will be provided at the poster session and a dinner reception will follow the symposium.

Looking forward to your participation,

2015 Early Career Scientists Symposium organizing committee

Tim James (chair)
Chelsea Wood
Kevin Theis
Marian Schmidt
Thomas Jenkinson

For further information, contact Sonja Botes.

?Image credit: Robert M. Brucker. ?