Professors Ted Bergin (Left) and John Monnier (Right)

The Department of Astronomy is excited to congratulate two of our faculty members who were honored at the 235th meeting of the American Astronomical Society (AAS 235). Professors Ted Bergin and John Monnier were both announced to have received prestigious awards after last year’s meeting but were officially recognized for their accomplishments at AAS 235 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Ted Bergin was presented with the 2019 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics for his work using chemistry to probe the physics of star and planet formation and to help trace the molecular origins of life. His plenary prize lecture was titled ‘Making a Habitable Planet.’ The Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics recognizes the work of outstanding mid-career scientists in the field of astrophysics and is jointly awarded by the American Institute of Physics and AAS.

Professor Monnier receiving the 2019 Joseph Weber Award

John Monnier was awarded his prize for the 2019 Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation. This award is for individuals who have contributed a significant improvement of instrumentation that has advanced the field of Astronomy. John received this award for his work in long baseline optical interferometry.