A big congratulations is in order for Professors Ted Bergin, Joel Bregman, John Monnier, and Pat Seitzer who have just been announced as part of the first class of AAS Fellows!

The American Astronomical Society has recently established a new accolade, Fellow of AAS, which honors members for extraordinary achievementĀ and service. According to AAS "Fellows will be recognized for original research and publication, innovative contributions to astronomical techniques or instrumentation, significant contributions to education and public outreach, and noteworthy service to astronomy and the Society itself."

Ted, Joel, John, and Pat were selected as part of a group of Legacy Fellows designated by the AAS Board of Trustees. More information on this wonderful distinction can be found on theĀ AAS website.