Winter 2021

Winter 2021 courses will be fully remote. Course details are viewable in the LSA Course Guide.

Chinese Studies

ASIAN 231 Introduction to Tibetan Buddhism - Sangseraima Ujeed (sujeed@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 261 Introduction to Modern Chinese Culture - Anne Rebull (aerebull@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 362 The Travels of the Monkey King in China and Abroad - David Rolston (drolston@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 364 The Development of Chinese Fiction - David Rolston (drolston@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 368 How Different is Chinese? - William Baxter (wbaxter@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 369 Chinese Film - Emily Wilcox (eewilcox@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 480.003 Topics in Asian Studies: "Three Kingdoms Lab: From History to Video" - S.E. Kile (kiles@umich.edu) | 3 credits

Japanese Studies

ASIAN 252 First Year Seminar in Japanese Studies: "Hybrid Japan" - Micah Auerback (auerback@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 310 Family in Japan - Allison Alexy (aalexy@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Social Sciences Distribution

ASIAN 312 After Defeat: The Cultural History of Postwar Japan - Christopher Hill (hillcl@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 480.002 Topics in Asian Studies: "Antiracism and Japanese Culture" - Reginald Jackson (rjalc@umich.edu) | 3 credits

Korean Studies

ASIAN 254 First Year Seminar in Korean Culture: "The Candlelight Revolution: Democracy and Protest in South Korea" - Youngju Ryu (yjryu@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 271 Spectacular History of Korea: Visualizing Events - Se-Mi Oh (smoh@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 273 North Korea: Real and Imagined - Se-Mi Oh (smoh@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Interdisciplinary Distribution

ASIAN 377 K-pop and Beyond: Popular Culture and Korean Society - Youngju Ryu (yjryu@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

South Asian Studies

ASIAN 225 Introduction to Hinduism - David Brick (djbrick@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 334 Race, Religion, and Caste in India and America - Arvind Mandair (amandair@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Interdisciplinary Distribution | Upper Level Writing Requirement 

ASIAN 338 Humanities Topics in South Asian Studies: "What is Buddhist Practice?" - Sangseraima Ujeed (sujeed@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 435 Truth Claims in Indian Literature: Nonfiction Accounts of Gendered Discrimination - Christi Merrill (merrillc@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Upper Level Writing Requirement

Southeast Asian Studies

ASIAN 327 Thai Buddhism and Film - Erick White (edwhite@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Approved for Humanities

ASIAN 328 Introduction to Theravada Buddhism - Erick White (edwhite@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Approved for Humanities

Pan-Asia

ASIAN 230 Introduction to Buddhism - Donald Lopez (dlopez@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 232 Zen Masters, Dharma Bums, and Drag Queens: Buddhism in America - Benjamin Brose (bbrose@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 248 Jesus Comes to Asia: Conversion and its Consequences in Asia - Deirdre de la Cruz (ddelac@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Humanities Distribution | Race & Ethnicity Requirement 

ASIAN 258 Food and Drink of Asia - Miranda Brown (mdbrown@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 280 Topics in Asian Studies: "The Lotus Sutra Across Asia and Beyond" - Donald Lopez (dlopez@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 306 What is Religion? - Arvind Mandair (amandair@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Humanities Distribution

ASIAN 371 Natural Disasters in East Asia - Juhn Ahn (jahn@umich.edu) | 4 credits | Social Sciences Distribution | Upper Level Writing Requirement

ASIAN 381: Junior/Senior Research Seminar for Majors - Christopher Hill (hillcl@umich.edu) | 3 credits | Upper Level Writing Requirement | Required course in the Asian Studies Major

ASIAN 480.001 Topics in Asian Studies: "Asian Documentary" - Markus Nornes (nornes@umich.edu) | 3 credits

ASIAN 483 The Lives of the Buddha, from India to Manga - Micah Auerback (auerback@umich.edu) | 3 credits