The Department of Anthropology was well-represented at this year's LSA Staff Recognition Awards, with our own Melinda Nelson, undergraduate program coordinator, and Julie Winningham, executive secretary, receiving honors at the ceremony on May 18, 2023.

Nelson received the Kay Beattie Outstanding Individual Award in the Social Science Division. This award recognizes exceptional contributions with sustained performance by a non-supervisory staff member with greater than three years of service. Recipients of this award receive a framed certificate as well as a monetary prize of $1,000. Nelson's award was presented by Barbara Meek, associate dean of social sciences and professor of anthropology.

Winningham received the college-wide Individual Staff Award for Contributions to LSA Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging. This award recognizes sustained and/or particularly meaningful commitment to DEI work; for contributions that are focused on or substantially benefit the LSA community; for activities that align with and advance the mission, vision, and values of LSA; and for work that extends beyond the nominee’s fundamental job description. This award does not recognize excellence in the performance of the nominee’s primary role, but values and recognizes invisible labor and service in the area of DEI that extends beyond the scope of the nominee’s primary job responsibilities. The recipient of this award receives a framed certificate as well as a monetary prize of $2,500. Winningham's award was presented by Jessica Garcia, manager of LSA DEI.

Congratulations, Melinda and Julie, on your achievement!