Michigan Anthropology’s graduating seniors have received three of the College of Literature, Science and the Arts’ Honors Program prestigious student awards this year.  Donna Wessel Walker, Associate Director, LSA Honors Program, said, “This was a very competitive year; the number of students doing top-flight work and pursuing worthy endeavors at a high level of achievement continues to be impressive.  We wish we could provide more awards!”


Alyssa Slayton and Julia Hickey are both recipients of the Virginia Voss Award for Academic Writing.   Named for the late Virginia Voss and sponsored by her family, these are certificates and monetary prizes in various amounts, given to Honors women for writing in separate categories of academic writing, imaginative prose, poetry, and journalism. http://www.lsa.umich.edu/honors/currentstudents/scholarshipinformation/virginialvossmemorialaward_ci


Courtney Weber is the recipient of The Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award.   Generously supported by the Goldstein family, The Wallenberg Award is one of nine awards in different areas of endeavor named for alumni/ae and associates of the University. http://www.lsa.umich.edu/honors/facultyresources/prizenominationinfo/goldsteinprizesforhonorsseniors_ci


Cameryn Clark received the first Terrence J. McDonald Prize for Archival Research:   New this year, honors alumnus John A. Rapaport has endowed this new award specifically “for the finest thesis which made substantial use of archives or museums."  http://www.lsa.umich.edu/honors/currentstudents/scholarshipinformation/terrencejmcdonaldprizeforarchivalresearch_ci



The Michigan Anthropology community heartily congratulates these future scholars.  We are very proud of all of you!