Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Departmental Administration

The professional staff of the Department of American Culture are available to help current and prospective students and faculty understand and feel part of the American Culture community, College and University. Our knowledgeable staff are dedicated to supporting students, serving as liaisons with alumni and alumnae, helping to recruit first-rate graduate students and faculty, and building bridges with other units in the College and University.

Business Hours
Monday – Friday | 8 AM - 5 PM (Fall  & Winter); 9 AM - 4:00 PM (Spring & Summer)

Surface Mail
505 S. State Street, 3700 Haven Hall, Ann Arbor MI 48109-1045

Department Leadership

Office of the Chair
Chair — Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes |
Associate Chair and Director of the UG Studies Program — John Cheney-Lippold |
Director of the Graduate Studies Program — Magdalena Zaborowska |

Ethnic Studies Programs
Director of Arab and Muslim American Studies — Juan
Director of Asian/Pacific Islander American Studies — Victor Mendoza |
Director of Latina/o Studies — Ashley Lucas |
Director of Native American Studies — Amy

May Jean Dong
Academic Program Specialist
3725 Haven Hall 734-763-0031
Mary Freiman
Executive Secretary
3727 Haven Hall

Contact Mary: to schedule an appointment with the chair and for chair's signature; if you have questions about Budgeted Faculty and Executive Committee Meetings; and for matters related to tenure-track faculty recruitment, reviews, sabbatical & leave requests, and FARs
(voicemail only) 734-615-6473
Stephanie Hart
Chief Administrator
3700 Haven Hall 734-647-2103
Luke Jacobson
Office Assistant
3700 Haven Hall, 505 S. State St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1045
Katia Kitchen
Graduate Coordinator
3719 Haven Hall
Hayley North
Student Services Assistant
3700 Haven Hall 734.763.1460
Anastazija Pomelov
Office Assistant
3700 Haven Hall, 505 S. State St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1045
Giota Tachtara
Events & Communications Coordinator
734 764 5322