Clare Croft

·      Recipient, ADVANCE SUCCEED grant (2019)


Greg Dowd

·      Individual Recipient College of LSA 2019 Individual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education in Race & Ethnicity Instruction


Sandra Gunning

·      Awarded Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship (effective July 2019)


Charlotte Albrecht

·      U-M Faculty Fellowship in the Institute for the Humanities (2019-2020)


Clare Croft

·      Community Foundation of Southeast Michigan Grant for the continuation of "Choreographing Black Space”


Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof

·      Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Public Engagement and the Humanities grantee


June Howard

·      Honorable Mention, British Association for American Studies, for The Center of the World: Regional Writing and the Puzzles of Place-Time (Oxford University Press, 2018)


Roland Hwang

·      Appointed to the Michigan State Advisory Committee to the US Commission on Civil Rights

·      Appointed to the Civics Subcommittee of the K-12 Social Studies Standards Committee to the Michigan Department of Education


Leila Kawar

·      Mellon New Directions Fellowship (2019-2020)

·      Appointed Chair, Academic Freedom Taskforce, Law and Society Association


Su’ad Abdul Khabeer

·      Soros Equality Fellow (2019-2020)


Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes

·      Mildred Tirado Lucha Award "for uniting, empowering, and holistically supporting members of the Latinx community”

·      Promoted to full professor of American Culture, Romance Languages & Literatures, and Women’s Studies


Scott Larson

·      Elected to the AHA Committee on LGBT History


Ian Shin

·      Faculty Fellow, U-M Eisenberg Institute for Historical Studies, (winter 2020)


Alexandra Minna Stern

·      National Endowment for the Humanities HCRR Implementation Grant (2019-2021)

·      NIH, NHGRI-ELSI R01 Grant (2018-2021)


Magdalena Zabrowoska

·      U-M NINI grant for Black Digital Studies, AMCULT/DAAS601 and AAS358

·      Elected to the ASA’s Constance M. Rourke Prize Committee