Faculty

  • Paulina Alberto

    Paulina Alberto

    Associate Professor of Spanish, Portuguese, and History 4422 MLB 1275

    Modern Latin American History and Historiography; Brazil and Argentina; Ideologies of Race, Nation, and Citizenship; Intellectual/Cultural History; Afro-Latin America/Diaspora734.763.3208 / palberto@umich.edu


  • Fernando Arenas

    Fernando Arenas

    Professor of Lusophone African, Brazilian, and Portuguese Studies 4202 MLB 1275

    Lusophone Cultural Studies (cinema, popular music, literature, history, critical theory). Angola, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, and São Tomé & Príncipe. Transatlantic Studies, (Post)colonialism, globalization, migrations, Afro-Diasporas734.647.2337 / farenas@umich.edu


  • Gavin Arnall

    Assistant Professor of Spanish 4002 MLB

    garnall@umich.edu


  • Giorgio Bertellini

    Giorgio Bertellini

    Associate Professor of Italian and Screen Arts and Cultures 6330 North Quad. 1045

    Silent Cinema History, Transnational Visual Culture, Italian Cinema734.763.1144 / giorgiob@umich.edu


  • Vincenzo Binetti

    Vincenzo A. Binetti

    Professor of Italian 4004 MLB 1275

    19th-20th Century Italian Literature; Cultural Studies; Film; the radical movements of the 1960s and 1970s; relations between Literature, Philosophy, and Political Theory734.647.2685 / vbinetti@umich.edu


  • caron interim

    David Caron

    Professor of French 4218 MLB 1275

    20th-21st Century literature and culture, Queer Studies, HIV/AIDS, Holocaust & Jewish Studies, World Queer Cinema734.647.2665 / dcaron@umich.edu


  • Javier Castro-Ibaseta

    Javier Castro-Ibaseta

    Lecturer III of Spanish 4415 MLB

    734.936.6226 / fjcastro@umich.edu


  • Alina Clej

    Alina Clej

    Associate Professor of French

    19th and 20th Century French Literature and Culture; Comparative Literature; European Studies; 20th Century Art and Architecture734-647-2331 / aclej@umich.edu


  • Alison Cornish

    Alison Cornish

    Professor of Italian
    On leave 2014-2015
    4216 MLB 1275

    Italian Literature, Medieval and Renaissance, Dante, Translation, Vernacularity, Science and Literature, Music and Literature, Renaissance Drama734.764.4382 / acorn@umich.edu


  • Nilo Couret

    Nilo Couret

    Assistant Professor of Spanish MLB 4214

    Latin American Cinema and Popular Culture, Post-Independence Cinemas of Africa and Asia, European Cinema, Trauma Studies and Affect Theory, Postcolonial Studies, Film and Media Theoriesncouret@umich.edu


  • Rachael Criso

    Rachael Criso

    Lecturer IV of French 4040 MLB 1275

    Business French, French Summer Internship Program; 20th Century French Literature: WWII Literature, Narratology, Nouveau Roman, Editions de Minuit734.647.9803 / rcriso@umich.edu


  • Carlos_de_los_Santos_RLL

    Carlos Juan de los Santos Plata

    Lecturer, Spanish 4016 MLB 1275

    734.647.2352 / deloss@umich.edu


  • Maria Dorantes

    Maria Dorantes

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4020 MLB 1275

    734.647.2322 / lourdes@umich.edu


  • Steven Dworkin

    Steven Dworkin

    Professor of Romance Linguistics and Spanish 4144 MLB 1275

    Linguistics, Medieval Spanish Linguistics734.764.4381 / dworkin@umich.edu


  • Frieda Ekotto

    Frieda Ekotto

    Professor of French 4124 MLB 1275

    20th and 21st century literature, culture and cinema, Africana Studies, Critical Race Theory and Comparative Literature734.764.5368 / ekotto@umich.edu


  • Sabine_Gabaron_RLL

    Sabine Gabaron

    Lecturer IV of French 3307 MLB

    La Bande Dessinée (French Comics), the French medical system, Cross-cultural comparisons, Second language acquisition, Linguistics and phonetics, the use of technology in the classroom734.647.2398 / sgabaron@umich.edu


  • Olga Gallego

    Olga Gallego

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4022 MLB 1275

    Elementary Language Instruction, Applied Linguistics/Second Language Acquisition734.647.2354 / ogallego@umich.edu


  • E. Garcia Santo-Tomas 3

    Enrique García Santo-Tomás

    Professor of Spanish

    Early Modern Spanish Literature734.647.2333 / enriqueg@umich.edu


  • Lorenzo García-Amaya

    Lorenzo García-Amaya

    Lecturer III of Spanish 4415 MLB 1275

    Second language acquisition, psycholinguistics, study abroad, context of learning, second language variation, child variation, Jerezano Andalusian Spanishlgarciaa@umich.edu


  • Goetz

    Stephanie Goetz

    Elementary Languages Director; Lecturer III of Spanish

    smgoetz@umich.edu


  • Raquel Gonzalez

    Raquel Gonzalez

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4030 MLB

    Spanish Language, Anthropology734.647.2357 / raquelng@umich.edu


  • Mayte Green-Mercado

    Marya T. Green-Mercado

    Assistant Professor of Mediterranean Studies MLB 4402

    Religious, cultural, and political history of the early modern Iberian, Mediterranean, and Islamic worldsmgreenme@umich.edu


  • Michele Hannoosh

    Michele Hannoosh

    Professor of French 4208 MLB 1275

    Nineteenth-century French literature, art, and society; art criticism, relations between the arts; the city, Walter Benjamin, the history of modernity; the representation of history; parody; comparative literature; the Mediterranean734.647.2339 / hannoosh@umich.edu


  • Jarrod Hayes

    Jarrod Hayes

    Professor of French 4220 MLB 1275

    Contemporary French and Francophone Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Postcolonial Theory734.647.2670 / hayesj@umich.edu


  • Ryan Hendrickson

    Lecturer III of French 4012 MLB

    ryadhend@umich.edu


  • Nicholas Henriksen

    Nicholas Henriksen

    Assistant Professor of Spanish Linguistics 4124 MLB 1275

    Spanish phonetics & phonology, intonation, prosody, sociophonetics, experimental phonetics, second language speech learningnhenriks@umich.edu


  • Alejandro Herrero-Olaizola

    Alejandro Herrero-Olaizola

    Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Spanish 4142 MLB 1275

    Latin American Literature, Critical Theory, Comparative Literature, Trans-Atlantic Studies, The Politics of Publishing, Censorship and Literary Markets, The Culture Industry734.647.2336 / aherrero@umich.edu


  • Juli Highfill

    Juli Highfill

    Professor of Spanish
    On leave 2014-2015
    4222 MLB 1275

    19th and 20th century literature, the Spanish and Argentine historic avant-gardes, material and visual culture, early cinema in Spain, literary and cultural theory734.763.5249 / highfill@umich.edu


  • Ann Hilberry

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4026 MLB

    734.764.6502 / hilberry@umich.edu


  • George Hoffman

    George Hoffmann

    Professor of French
    Graduate Chair
    4126 MLB 1275

    16th-Century French Literature; Object Theory, Post-Secular Theory734.647.2329 / georgeh@umich.edu


  • Kate Jenckes

    Kate Jenckes

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4404 MLB 1275

    Contemporary Latin American literature, Southern Cone, literary and cultural theory, visual arts, cultural studies, poetry, testimony734.647.3028 / kjenckes@umich.edu


  • Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes

    Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes

    Associate Professor of Spanish
    Director, Latina/o Studies Program
    4408 MLB 1275

    Latin American, Caribbean and US Latino/Latina Literature and Culture; Theater and Performance Studies; Queer, Lesbian and Gay Studies; Women’s and Gender Studies734.763.0510 / lawrlafo@umich.edu


  • Victoria Langland

    Victoria Langland

    Associate Professor of History and Portuguese MLB 4406

    734.763.4624 / langland@umich.edu


  • Ana María León

    Assistant Professor of Spanish and History of Art 4008 MLB

    amlc@umich.edu


  • Karla Mallette

    Karla Mallette

    Professor of Italian 4010 MLB 1275

    Medieval Mediterranean literature in Italian, Arabic, Latin; translation between Greek, Arabic and Latin during the Middle Ages734.647.2351 / alrak@umich.edu


  • Peggy McCracken 8/14

    Peggy McCracken

    Domna C. Stanton Collegiate Professor of French, Women's Studies, and Comparative Literature
    On leave 2014-2015
    4206 MLB 1275

    Medieval French Literature, Medieval Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Women's Studies734.647.2338 / peggymcc@umich.edu


  • Kathleen Meyer

    Kathleen Meyer

    Lecturer IV of French 4028 MLB 1275

    Teaching and coordinating elementary French; The study abroad experience; Identity challenges in France today; Life in France during the Occupation; Second Language Acquisition; Using technology in the classroom734.647.2356 / kemeyer@umich.edu


  • Cristina Moreiras-Menor

    Cristina Moreiras-Menor

    Department Chair
    Professor of Spanish and Women's Studies
    4210 MLB 1275

    Modern and Contemporary Spanish Literature and Film, Psychoanalysis, Cultural and Political Theory, and Women's Studies734.647.2475 / moreiras@umich.edu


  • Maria_Dolores_Morillo_RLL

    Maria Dolores Morillo

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4417 MLB

    Medieval and Early Modern Spanish Literature and Cultures, Cervantes’ Theater, Theater Studies, Colonial Latin American Literature (Crónicas de Indias)734.936.5459 / mdml@umich.edu


  • Daniel Nemser

    Daniel Nemser

    Assistant Professor of Spanish
    On leave 2014-2015
    4122 MLB 1275

    Colonial Latin American literature, history and historiography, race, Nahuatl textuality/indigenous studies.734.647.2328 / dnemser@umich.edu


  • Andrew_Noverr_RLL

    Andrew Noverr

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4128 MLB 1275

    Elementary Language Instruction, Instructional Technology, Popular Media734.763.4352 / anoverr@umich.edu


  • Michelle Orecchio

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4042 MLB 1275

    734.647.9803 / orecchio@umich.edu


  • W. Paulson

    William Paulson

    Associate Chair
    Edward Lorraine Walter Collegiate Professor of French
    4224 MLB 1275

    18th- & 19th-Century French Literature; Literary Theory; Contemporary Literature; Relations of Culture, Science, & Technology734.647.2675 / wpaulson@umich.edu


  • Dennis Pollard

    Dennis Pollard

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4036 MLB 1275

    Teaching reading; Instructional technology; Latin American literature734.764.0009 / dennisdp@umich.edu


  • Kristina Primorac_RLL

    Kristina Primorac

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4034 MLB

    734.763.1343 / kprimora@umich.edu


  • Jaime Rodríguez Matos

    Jaime Rodriguez Matos

    Assistant Professor of Spanish 4136 MLB 1275

    Caribbean literature, Latin American poetry, Latino/a culture, political theory and philosophy734.764.4397 / jaimerod@umich.edu


  • Amaryllis_Rodriguez_Mojica_RLL

    Amaryllis Rodríguez Mojica

    Lecturer IV of Italian, Coordinator for the first year Italian Language Courses 4044 MLB

    734.647.9804 / amirod@umich.edu


  • Ana Sabau

    Assistant Professor of Spanish 4102 MLB

    asabau@umich.edu


  • Javier Sanjinés

    Javier Sanjinés

    Professor of Spanish 4204 MLB 1275

    Latin American Literature and Cultural Studies734.764.4396 / sanjines@umich.edu


  • Teresa Satterfield

    Teresa Satterfield

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4138 MLB 1275

    Romance linguistics, (first) language acquisition, bilingualism, syntactic theory, language variation and contact, computational models of language734.647.2332 / tsatter@umich.edu


  • Adelaide Smith

    Lecturer IV of Italian 4315 MLB 1275

    734.647.2371 / adel@umich.edu


  • Paolo Squatriti

    Paolo Squatriti

    Associate Professor of Italian 4138 MLB 1275

    Italian History and Culture; Medieval European History; Landscape and Power; Technology and Resource Use; Environment734.647.4897 / pasqua@umich.edu


  • Lorrel Sullivan

    Lorrel Sullivan

    Lecturer IV of French 4038 MLB 1275

    734.647.3315 / lorrelsu@umich.edu


  • Szpiech Place Holder

    Ryan Szpiech

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4140 MLB 1275

    Medieval Iberian Literatures, Converso Studies, Medieval Islam, Religious Polemics734.647.2334 / szpiech@umich.edu


  • Gustavo_Verdesio_RLL

    Gustavo Verdesio

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4212 MLB 1275

    Colonial Studies, Native American Studies, Pre-Contact Indigenous Societies, Material Culture, Popular Culture, Theory734.647.2645 / verdesio@umich.edu


  • Yannick Viers

    Yannick Viers

    Lecturer IV of French 4006 MLB 1275

    734.647.2349 / yannick@umich.edu


  • Sergio Villalobos Ruminott

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4422 MLB

    svillal@umich.edu


  • Gareth Williams

    Gareth Williams

    Professor of Spanish 4130 MLB 1275

    Contemporary Latin American Literature, Film, and Cultural/Critical Theory (Deconstruction, Subaltern Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Cultural Studies)734.647.2337 / garethw@umich.edu