Skip to Content

Tanner Library

Welcome to the Tanner Philosophy Library, a dedicated collection and space for the study of Philosophy. Obert C.Tanner and Grace Adams Tanner provided funds to establish the Tanner Philosophy Library in Angell Hall. Through the continued generosity of the Tanner family, a second room was added in 1979, and an Annex in 1996. The Tanner Philosophy Endowment provides continuing support for staffing and furnishings. Over the last forty years, the collection has grown to more than six thousand monographs and over twenty-five journal subscriptions.

TANNER LIBRARY // 1171 ANGELL HALL
ATTENTION: Tanner Library is open to the public the following hours; however, Philosophy faculty and graduate students have 24/7 access, and it is used 24/7 at night and on weekends. Tanner is strictly for quiet study. If you need collaborative work space, please use the Shapiro Undergraduate Library. You can even make reservations for a room!

 

Tanner June Hours

June 1 – 3

Wednesday, June 1
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed : 12- 12:30

Thursday, June 2
Open at 11:30 a.m. –  4:30 p.m.
Friday, June 3

8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed : 11:30 – 1:00 for staff activity

 

June 6 – 8

Monday, June 6
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed for lunch 12- 12:30

 Tuesday, June 7
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 8
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed : 12- 12:30

 

June 13 – 15

Monday, June 13
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed : 12- 12:30

 

Tuesday, June 14
CLOSED

Wednesday, June 15
8:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. only

 

June 20 – 22
Monday, June 20
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed for lunch 12- 12:30

Tuesday, June 21
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 22
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed for lunch 12- 12:30

 

June 27 – 29
All three days !!!!!!!
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.   Closed : 12- 12:30

 

There will be exceptions for departmental events and talks. PLEASE CALL (734.763-0167) or e-mail to make sure that Tanner is open if you are making a special trip to use the resources.