Skip to Content

Removing Content

 

 

There are three levels of removing content from the CMS, each with more serious ramifications than the one before and each a prerequisite for the one before:

  1. Unpublishing content removes the content from the live site/servers and leaves the content intact on both the ICE and AppConsole interfaces.
  2. Removing the content from the ICE interface takes the content out of visible preview yet leaves the content available for re-use in the AppConsole.
  3. Deleting content from the CMS takes the content out of the database and renders it unable to be used; this step cannot be undone.

The most basic level of removing content from your live site is to unpublish it, which takes the content off your live site. You can do this by either:

1. Clicking the Unpublish icon next to the content item on your ICE site 

OR

1. In the AppConsole, selecting the content item, and clicking on the Unpublish menu item

THEN

2. Click the Unpublish button in the New Job window

Related Articles

Removing Content From ICE

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

 

Remove content from your ICE site by breaking the association between the content item and the channel on which it is displayed. The method is different for both dynamic and non-dynamic pages.

Non-Dynamic Pages

The key to removing content from non-dynamic pages is to remove the item from the region configurator. To do so:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Open the region configurator for editing.
  3. Select the piece of content you unpublished in step 1.
  4. Click on the Remove button.
  5. Make sure the content has been removed from the relator widget, callouts 7 and 8.
  6. Click OK to save your changes.
  7. You may need to refresh your ICE page by using the Floatee Menu box to see your changes.
  8. Clear the Delivery Cache, All Regions in the Floatee Menu box.

Dynamic Pages

One of the unique things about Dynamic Pages (news and events) is that content automatically appears and disappears based on the date; so you don't have to remove stale content. If, however, you have created something in error that needs to be removed:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Delete the content from the CMS following the steps in the related article below.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

Deleting content from the CMS is the most extreme form of content removal. Once content is deleted from the CMS, it is not retrievable. You must first unpublish the content you desire to delete.

  1. Navigate to the content item’s location in the AppConsole’s Content tab or in the Recent Items of your MyPage. 
  2. Exception: Media Images and Media Videos can only be deleted from their content editing form.
  3. Select the content item by placing a checkmark in the box next to it.
  4. Click on the red X from the menu above.
  5. Click OK on the confirmation window.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Removing Content From ICE

Keywords

 

The most basic level of removing content from your live site is to unpublish it, which takes the content off your live site. You can do this by either:

1. Clicking the Unpublish icon next to the content item on your ICE site 

OR

1. In the AppConsole, selecting the content item, and clicking on the Unpublish menu item

THEN

2. Click the Unpublish button in the New Job window

Related Articles

Removing Content From ICE

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

 

Remove content from your ICE site by breaking the association between the content item and the channel on which it is displayed. The method is different for both dynamic and non-dynamic pages.

Non-Dynamic Pages

The key to removing content from non-dynamic pages is to remove the item from the region configurator. To do so:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Open the region configurator for editing.
  3. Select the piece of content you unpublished in step 1.
  4. Click on the Remove button.
  5. Make sure the content has been removed from the relator widget, callouts 7 and 8.
  6. Click OK to save your changes.
  7. You may need to refresh your ICE page by using the Floatee Menu box to see your changes.
  8. Clear the Delivery Cache, All Regions in the Floatee Menu box.

Dynamic Pages

One of the unique things about Dynamic Pages (news and events) is that content automatically appears and disappears based on the date; so you don't have to remove stale content. If, however, you have created something in error that needs to be removed:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Delete the content from the CMS following the steps in the related article below.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

The most basic level of removing content from your live site is to unpublish it, which takes the content off your live site. You can do this by either:

1. Clicking the Unpublish icon next to the content item on your ICE site 

OR

1. In the AppConsole, selecting the content item, and clicking on the Unpublish menu item

THEN

2. Click the Unpublish button in the New Job window

Related Articles

Removing Content From ICE

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

 

Remove content from your ICE site by breaking the association between the content item and the channel on which it is displayed. The method is different for both dynamic and non-dynamic pages.

Non-Dynamic Pages

The key to removing content from non-dynamic pages is to remove the item from the region configurator. To do so:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Open the region configurator for editing.
  3. Select the piece of content you unpublished in step 1.
  4. Click on the Remove button.
  5. Make sure the content has been removed from the relator widget, callouts 7 and 8.
  6. Click OK to save your changes.
  7. You may need to refresh your ICE page by using the Floatee Menu box to see your changes.
  8. Clear the Delivery Cache, All Regions in the Floatee Menu box.

Dynamic Pages

One of the unique things about Dynamic Pages (news and events) is that content automatically appears and disappears based on the date; so you don't have to remove stale content. If, however, you have created something in error that needs to be removed:

  1. Unpublish the content from your live site.
  2. Delete the content from the CMS following the steps in the related article below.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Deleting Content from the CMS

Keywords

Deleting content from the CMS is the most extreme form of content removal. Once content is deleted from the CMS, it is not retrievable. You must first unpublish the content you desire to delete.

  1. Navigate to the content item’s location in the AppConsole’s Content tab or in the Recent Items of your MyPage. 
  2. Exception: Media Images and Media Videos can only be deleted from their content editing form.
  3. Select the content item by placing a checkmark in the box next to it.
  4. Click on the red X from the menu above.
  5. Click OK on the confirmation window.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Removing Content From ICE

Keywords

 

Deleting content from the CMS is the most extreme form of content removal. Once content is deleted from the CMS, it is not retrievable. You must first unpublish the content you desire to delete.

  1. Navigate to the content item’s location in the AppConsole’s Content tab or in the Recent Items of your MyPage. 
  2. Exception: Media Images and Media Videos can only be deleted from their content editing form.
  3. Select the content item by placing a checkmark in the box next to it.
  4. Click on the red X from the menu above.
  5. Click OK on the confirmation window.

Related Articles

Unpublishing Content

Removing Content From ICE

Keywords