Skip to Content

Faculty Taking Students in Fall 2017

Effects of sensory experience and sleep on neural circuits, mechanisms underlying nervous system plasticity and memory formation
Sara Aton, Assistant Professor, saton@umich.edu

Role of molecular chaperones and disulfide catalysts in protein folding; Experimental evolution of protein folding
James Bardwell, Professor; jbardwel@umich.edu

Understanding the barriers to proliferation in quiescent cells and how they are bypassed in diseases such as cancer
Laura Buttitta, Assistant Professor; buttitta@umich.edu

Mechanism by which Wnt signaling regulates target gene expression, using Drosophila as a model system
Kenneth Cadigan,
Professor, cadigan@umich.edu

Protein sorting and quality control in the yeast secretory pathway
Amy Chang
, Associate Professor; amychang@umich.edu

Developmental and regulatory mechanisms that generate neural circuits and govern their function, using the olfactory system of Drosophila as a model system
 E. Josie Clowney, Assistant Professor; jclowney@umich.edu

Signaling and transport within axons, in particular how this allows neurons to make regenerative and degenerative responses to axonal injury
Catherine Collins,
Associate Professor; collinca@umich.edu

Understanding how the central nervous system regulates energy stores
Roger Cone,
Professor; rcone@umich.edu

Gene regulation and chromosome segregation mediated by condensin complexes in C. elegans
Gyorgyi Csankovszki, Associate Professor; gyorgyi@umich.edu

Molecular mechanisms of hormone action in animal development
Robert Denver,
Professor; rdenver@umich.edu

Understanding how peptide growth factors act to control growth, development, and aging
Cunming Duan,
Professor; cduan@umich.edu

Role of oxidative stress in host defense and aging
Ursula Jakob, Professor; ujakob@umich.edu

Genomics, proteomics, and systems biology to study cell signaling and cancer-related pathways
Anuj Kumar, Associate Professor; anujk@umich.edu

Regulation and quality control of lysosomes
Ming Li, Assistant Professor; mlium@umich.edu

Molecular mechanisms that regulate cytokinesis in epithelial cells and how this process may become mis-regulated in cancer
Ann Miller, Assistant Professor; annlm@umich.edu

Biochemistry, cell biology and X-ray crystallography to understand the roles of telomerase and telomeres in cancer and ageing
Jayakrishnan Nandakumar, Assistant Professor; jknanda@umich.edu

Understanding the cellular machinery involved in proper deposition of plant cell wall components
Erik Nielsen,
Associate Professor; nielsene@umich.edu

Understanding the molecular mechanisms that regulate cell differentiation and pattern formation
John Schiefelbein, Professor;schiefel@umich.edu

F- anion export
Randy Stockbridge,
Assistant Professor;stockbr@umich.edu

interdisciplinary approaches to understand subcellular organization, with an emphasis on cell-free reconstitution and imaging
Anthony Vecchiarelli
, Assistant Professor; ave@umich.edu

Protein trafficking, organelle biogenesis and Golgi defects in diseases
Yanzhuang Wang,
Professor; yzwang@umich.edu

Mechanisms of long non-coding RNA functions in regulation of genome activity
Andrzej Wierzbicki, Associate Professor; wierzbic@umich.edu

Electrophysiological, behavioral and anatomical techniques to study retinal cells and circuits that regulate the non-image-forming visual system
Kwoon Wong, Assistant Professor; kwoon@umich.edu

Understanding the physiological and pathological functions of Transient Receptor Potential (TRP) ion channels and Ca2+ signaling
Haoxing Xu,
Professor; haoxingx@umich.edu