Skip to Content

CC Members & Responsibilities

Faculty (elected for 3-year terms ending in June of years below)

Naomi Andre

HU (2018)

Associate Professor, Women's Studies/RC

Paula Berwanger


(SS (2017) Lecturer IV, Linguistics/RC
Kalli Federhofer (HU 2017) Lecturer IV, German

Ingrid Hendy

NS (2018)

Associate Professor, Earth & Environmental Science

Allen Hicken

SS (2018)

Associate Professor, Political Science

Juli Highfill

HU (2019)

Professor, Romance Lang & Lit

Josephine Kurdziel

NS (2018)

Lecturer IV, EEB

Shelly Schreier SS (2019) Lecturer IV, Psychology
Roseanne Sension NS (2018) Professor, Chemistry/Biophysics

Students (appointed by LSA Student Government)

Ryan Gillcrist

Nathan Wilson

Hanna Simmons

Amanda Delekta


Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members (Chair votes in case of a tie)

Angela Dillard, Chair

Associate Dean, LSA Undergraduate Education

Tim Dodd

Director, LSA Academic Advising

Phil Gorman

Director, LSA Advising Technology

Lori Gould

Student Services Coordinator

Marjorie Horton

Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Education

Mika LaVaque-Manty

Director, LSA Honors Program

Charles Murphy

Student Admin Senior, Residential College

Esrold Nurse

Associate Dean, LSA Student Academic Affairs

JoAnn Peraino

Curriculum & Enrollment Specialist

Susan TepasKe-King

Academic Advisor

Donna Wessel Walker

Director, Honors Academic Advising

Evans Young

Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Education

The LSA Faculty Code (A2.06 sec. 6) assigns to the Curriculum Committee the following responsibilities:

  1.  This Committee shall consist of the Dean or a representative, the Director of Academic Advising, the Director of the Honors Council, a representative from the Residential College, and an administrative Secretary; who shall be appointed by the Executive Committee of the College and all of whom shall serve ex officio without vote. In addition there shall be nine members elected by the faculty with overlapping terms of three years, elected so as to ensure that the Committee always contains three members each from the Humanities, the Natural Sciences, and the Social Sciences. No members shall be eligible for immediate reelection after service of a full term. Three members shall be elected each year, and appointments to vacancies in unexpired terms shall be made by the Executive Committee of the College. In addition, three members from the College student body shall be entitled to vote as members of the Committee and shall be appointed by LSA Student Government. The Curriculum Committee is charged with the following functions which it may delegate to subcommittees:
  2. Subject to final approval by the Executive Committee, give formal approval to all LSA courses; generally supervise and make recommendations for the reduction in the number of courses offered in any single term that follows from any changes in the credit-hour system; work with the Dean’s delegate, LSA Academic Information and Publications and other appropriate persons in designing and preparing catalogs.
  3. Maintain the small library assembled by the Commission on Graduation Requirements; subject to final approval by the Executive Committee, be empowered to give temporary but immediate one-term authorization for experimental courses under a special set of course numbers; receive reports from the Residential College, and all Living-Learning Programs that are administered by LSA, and from departmental curriculum committees on changes made in their teaching and curriculum; serve as consultants to interested faculty as well as report to the faculty generally on promising new educational ventures here and elsewhere; with the Dean’s delegate encourage and supervise the establishment of interdisciplinary courses, first-year courses, and Collegiate Institutes; work with other offices of the University (such as the Academic Advising Center, Career Planning and Placement, and the Alumni Council) in securing their cooperation in teaching programs where appropriate.
  4. Cooperate with individual instructors and all teaching units in establishing varied but systematic programs for the evaluation of courses by students and others, and in assessing the qualitative effects of various curricular patterns; make recommendations to the faculty for the improvement of teaching; cooperate with CRLT and the Steering Committee on Admissions in fostering data collection and research on teaching and learning in the College.