Skip to Content

Chairs and Directors

College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
DAAS 734.764.5513 4700 Haven Hall - 1045 Frieda Ekotto ekotto@umich.edu
American Culture 734.615.6473 3700 Haven Hall - 1045 June Howard amcult-chair@umich.edu
Anthropology 734.764.7274 101 West Hall - 1107 Andrew Shryock ashryock@umich.edu
Asian Languages and Cultures 734.764.8286 6111 Thayer Bldg.
48104-1608
Donald Lopez dlopez@umich.edu
Astronomy 734.764.3440 311 West Hall - 1107 Edwin Bergin astrochair@umich.edu
Chemistry 734.615.9852 1500 Chemistry - 1055 Robert Kennedy chem-chair@umich.edu
Classicial Studies 734.764.0360 2106 Angell Hall - 1003 Sara Forsdyke forsdyke@umich.edu
Communication Studies 734.764.0423 5370 North Quad. - 1285 Nojin Kwak commchair@umich.edu
Comparative Literature 734.763.2351 2015 Tisch Hall - 1003 Yopie Prins complit-chair@umich.edu
Earth and Environmental Sciences 734.764.1435 2534 C.C. Little - 1005 Christopher Poulsen poulsen@umich.edu
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology 734.615.4915 2019 Nat. Sci. Bldg. - 1048 Diarmaid O'Foighil diarmaid@umich.edu
Economics 734.764.2355 238 Lorch - 1220 Paul Rhode economicschair@umich.edu
English Language and Literature 734.764.6330 3187 Angell Hall - 1003 David Porter english.chair@umich.edu
Germanic Languages and Literatures 734.764.8018 3106 MLB - 1275 Johannes Von Moltke moltke@umich.edu
History 734.764.6305 1029 Tisch Hall - 1003 Kathleen Canning histchair@umich.edu
History of Art 734.764.5400 110 Tappan - 1357 Betsy Sears histart-chair@umich.edu
Linguistics 734.764.0353 440 Lorch - 1220 Robin Queen rqueen@umich.edu
Mathematics 734.764.0335 2074 East Hall - 1043 Mel Hochster math-chair@umich.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology 734.764.7427 1127 Nat. Sci. Bldg. - 1048 Robert Denver mcdb-chair@umich.edu
Near Eastern Studies 734.764.0314 4111 Thayer Bldg. - 48104 - 1608 Gottfried Hagen nes-chair@umich.edu
Philosophy 734.764.6285 2215 ANgell Hall - 1003 Elizabeth (Liz) Anderson phil-chair@umich.edu
Physics 734.764.4437 1440 Randall Lab - 1040 Brad Orr orr@umich.edu
Political Science 734.764.6313 5700 Haven Hall - 1045 Nancy Burns nburns@umich.edu
Psychology 734.764.2580 1012 East Hall - 1043 Patricia Reuter-Lorenz parl@umich.edu
Romance Languages and Literatures 734.764.5344 4108 MLB - 1275 Cristina Moreiras-Menor moreiras@umich.edu
Screen Arts and Cultures 734.764.0147 6330 North Quad - 1285 Johannes von Moltke moltke@umich.edu
Slavic Languages and Literatures 734.764.5355 3040 MLB - 1275 Mikhail Krutikov krutikov@umich.edu
Sociology 734.764.6324 3001 LSA Bldg. - 1382 Alford Young ayoun@umich.edu
Statistics 734.647.8192 311 West Hall - 1107 Xuming He statchair@umich.edu
Women's Studies 734.936.0717 1122 Lane Hall - 1290 Rosario Ceballo rosarioc@umich.edu
Programs and Institutes
Program/Institute Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Applied Physics 734.936.0653 2477 Randall Lab - 1040 Cagliyan Kurdak kurdak@umich.edu
Barger Leadership Institute 734.764.8200 2016 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Jason Owen-Smith jdos@umich.edu
Biophysics 734.764.1146 4028 Chemistry - 1055 Charles Brooks broksci@umich.edu
Complex Systems 734.763.3301 321 West Hall - 1107 Charles Doering doering@umich.edu
Institute for the Humanities 734.936.3518 1111 Thayer Bldg. - 1608 Sidonie Smith sidsmith@umich.edu
International Institute 734.763.9200 2660 SSWB - 1106 Pauline Jones Luong pjluong@umich.edu
Judiac Studies 734.763.9047 2111 Thayer 48104 - 1608 Jeffrey Veidlinger jveidlin@umich.edu
National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID) 734.764.6497 3338 School of Ed. - 1259 Tabbye Chavous tchavous@umich.edu
Organizational Studies 734.764.6767 2016 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Mark Mizruchi mizruchi@umich.edu
Sweetland Center for Writing 734.764.0429 1310 North Quad - 1285 Anne Ruggles Gere argere@umich.edu
Weinberg Institute for Cognitive Science 734.615.3275 440D Lorch Hall - 1220 Samuel D. Epstein sepstein@umich.edu
Museums
Museum Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Museum of Anthropological Archaeology 734.647.2224 4013 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Jim Penner-Hahn
Interim
jeph@umich.edu
Kelsey Museum of Archaeology 734.764.9304 434 S. State Street - 1390 Christopher Ratte ratte@umich.edu
Museum of Paleontology 734.764.0489 1529 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Dan Fisher dcfisher@umich.edu
Museum of Zoology 734.764.0476 1080 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Diarmaid O'Foighil diarmaid@umich.edu
Biological Station 734.763.4461
231.539.8408
2541 Chemistry - 1055
9133 Biological Road St.
Pellston, MI 49769

 

Linda Greer
Interim

 

 

lingreer@umich.edu
Herbarium 734.615.6200 3600 Varsity Dr. - 2228 Diarmaid O'Foighil diarmaid@umich.edu
Undergraduate Education Units
Units Phone Address/Zip Chair/Director E-Mail Address
Center for Engaged Academic Learning 734.615.1624 1812 East Quad. - 1245 Denise Galarza Sepulveda galarzed@umich.edu
Center for Global and Intercultural Study 734.764.4311 G155 Angell Hall - 1003 Michael Jordan micjor@umich.edu
Comprehensive Studies 734-764-9128 1139 Angell Hall - 1003 Harold Waters watershd@umich.edu
English Language Institute 734.764.2413 555 S. Forest Ave. - 2584 Angelo Pitillo apitillo@umich.edu
Environment, Program in the (PitE) 734.763.5065 1120 USB - 2215 Gregg Crane gdcrane@umich.edu
Global Scholars Program 734.764.3573 3145 North Quad. - 1285 Robbie Routenberg robinrr@umich.edu
Health Science Scholars Program 734.763.6091 1300 Couzens Hall - 2021 Kyle Walton
Interim
 
kwaltons@umich.edu
Honors Program 734.764.6274 1330 Mason Hall - 1027 Mika LaVaque-Manty mmanty@umich.edu
Intergroup Relations 734.936.1875 1214 S. University 48104-2592 Kelly Maxwell kmax@umich.edu
Language Resource Center 734.764.0424 1500 North Quad. - 1285 Julie Evershed evershed@umich.edu
Lloyd Hall Scholars 734.764.7521 100 Observatory, Alice Lloyd Hall - 2025 Paul Barron
Interim
pdbarron@umich.edu
Michigan Community Scholars Program 734.647.4860 1813 East Quad. - 1245 David Schoem dschoem@umich.edu
MRC WISE RP
(Michigan Research Commmunity and Women in Science and Engineering Residence Program)
734.936.6536 168 Mosher - 2035 Chris Bass cbass@umich.edu
Museum of Natural History 734.764.0478 4506 Ruthven Museums - 1079 Amy Harris aharris@umich.edu
Residential College 734.763.0032 1724 East Quad. - 1245 Jonathon Wells jonwells@umich.edu
Science Learning Center 734.764.9326 1720 Chemistry - 1055 Claire Sandler csandler@umich.edu
Undergraduate Research 734.615.9000 1190 USB - 2215 Sandra Gregerman sgreger@umich.edu
International Institute Area Study Centers
African Studies 734.615.3027 3622 SSWB – 1106  A. Oveta Fuller fullerao@umich.edu
Armenian Studies 734.763.0622 3633 SSWB - 1106 Kathryn Babayan babayan@umich.edu
Chinese Studies 734.764.6308 4668 SSWB - 1106 Mary Gallagher metg@umich.edu
European Studies 734.647.2743 3668 SSWB - 1106 Genevieve Zubrzycki genez@umich.edu
Human Rights Program 734.763.9200 2660 SSWB - 1106 Kiyoteru Tsutsui tsutsui@umich.edu
International and Comparative Studies 734.764.2268 2660 SSWB - 1106 Robert Franzese, Jr. franzese@umich.edu
Islamic Studies 734.936.2777 2607 SSWB - 1106 Karla Mallette alrak@umich.edu
Japanese Studies 734.764.6307 4640 SSWB - 1106 Jonathan Zwicker zwicker@umich.edu
Nam Center for Korean Studies 734.764.1825 4661 SSWB - 1106 Nojin Kwak kwak@umich.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies 734.763.0553 3661 SSWB - 1106 Alexandra Stern amstern@umich.edu
Middle Eastern and North African Studies 734.764.0350 3603 SSWB - 1106 Juan Cole jrcole@umich.edu
Polish Studies 734.764.0351 3668 SSWB – 1106 Genevieve Zubrzycki genez@umich.edu
Russian, East European, and Eurasion Studies 734.764.0351 3668 SSWB - 1106 Genevieve Zubrzycki genez@umich.edu
Southeast Asian Studies 734.764.0352 3616 SSWB - 1106 Christi-Anne Castro ccastro@umich.edu
South Asian Studies 734.764.0448 3624 SSWB - 1106 Farina Mir fmir@umich.edu
Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies/Center for Europe and Eurasia 734.764.0351 3668 SSWB - 1106 Allen Hicken Interim ahicken@umich.edu
World Performance Studies 734.936.2777 2607 SSWB - 1106 Edward Sarath sarahara@umich.edu
Interdepartmental Programs

Anthropology and History

734.764.6358

1029 Tisch Hall - 1003

Alaina Lemon

amlemon@umich.edu

Classical Art and Archaeology

734.764.6323

434 S. State - 1390

Lisa Nevett

lcnevett@umich.edu

Greek and Roman History

734.764.0360

2160 Angell Hall - 1003

Ian Moyer

ianmoyer@umich.edu

Medieval, Early Modern Studies

734.763.2066

1029 Tisch Hall - 1003

Christian DePee

cdepee@umich.edu

Philosophy, Politics, and Economics

734.764.6285

2215 Angell Hall - 1003

Sarah Buss-Paulson
Interim

 

sbuss@umich.edu

Science, Technology, and Society

734.763.2066

2713 Haven Hall - 1003

Gabrielle Hecht

hechtg@umich.edu