Skip to Content

Job Market Candidates

Michigan Department of Economics Ph.D. Candidates on the job market during the 2016-2017 academic year will be posted in mid-October.  If you need any further assistance or information, please feel free to contact our Placement Director, Professor Dmitriy Stolyarov at stolyar@umich.edu or 734-647-5609.

Paul Brehm

Energy and Enironmental Economics, Industrial Organization
Homepage      CV
pabrehm@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
“To Trade or not to Trade: Oil Leases, Information Asymmetry, and Coase”

Adam Dearing

Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics
Homepage      CV
adamdea@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"Pricing Policy and Welfare in Retail Chains: A Case for Vertical Incentives"

Evan Herrnstadt

Environmental and Energy Economics, Industrial Organization
Homepage      CV
eherrnstadt@fas.harvard.edu

Job Market paper:
“Air Pollution as a Cause of Violent Crime: Evidence from Los Angeles and Chicago”

Sarah Johnston

Energy and Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization
Homepage      CV
sjohnst@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"The Effect of Electricity Price Changes on Manufacturing Investment"

Ben Meiselman

Public Finance, Energy and Environmental Economics
Homepage      CV
mdbmeis@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"Ghostbusting in Detroit: Evidence on nonfilers from a controlled field experiment"

Alexander Russov

Labor Economics, Development Economics
Homepage      CV
arussov@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"Fathers and Children: Labor Market Opportunities and Fertility"

Bryan Stuart

Labor Economics, Public Economics
Homepage      CV
bastuart@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"The Long-Run Effects of Recessions on Education and Income"

Evan Wright

Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics
Homepage      CV
enwright@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"Consumer behavior and advertising in crowdfunding markets"

Carrie Wenjing Xu

Behavioral and Experimental Economics, Education
Homepage CV
wjxu@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"With a Little Help from Your Friends"

Yiyuan Zhang

Energy and Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization
Homepage      CV
yiyuanz@umich.edu

Job Market Paper:
"Market Organization and Productive Efficiency: Evidence from the Texas Electricity Market"