Current Students

The Communication Studies' graduate student community is made up of a diverse group of individuals from all over the world. Some enter the program directly from an undergraduate or graduate program while others enter the program after working outside academia for a number of years.

The graduate student population is kept small to make sure the students have an environment where they are able to work closely with faculty and peers. Graduate students are also encouraged to be active in the development and expansion of the department, from helping with the recruiting of new faculty and graduate students to participating in our regular departmental colloquium.

 

  • Joe-2015

    Joseph B. Bayer

    Communication Technologies; Mobile Media and Communication; Social Networks; Social Cognition; Well-Beingjoebayer@umich.edu


  • Monique 2014

    Monique Bourdage

    Gender and the media; Historical approaches to media and technology; Popular music and sound studies; Qualitative methods; Audience reception; Analyzing media texts; Media and cultural theory; Media industries and institutionsbmonique@umich.edu


  • Brunton2014

    Douglas Brunton

    Media and Society; New Media and Identity; Post-colonialism; Intercultural communicationdbrunton@umich.edu


  • Sedona-2015

    Sedona Chinn

    Identity and Persuasion; Environmental Communication; Attitude Constructionsbchinn@umich.edu


  • Coles-2015

    Stewart M. Coles

    Media Effects; Political Communication and Behavior; Representation; Prejudice and Stereotypes; Identity Formation; Content creator bias and educationsmcoles@umich.edu


  • Cote

    Amanda Cote

    New Media; Analyzing Media Texts; Representation; Media Communitiesaccote@umich.edu


  • Amelia2014

    Amelia Couture

    Media Psychology; Gender and Sexuality; Health Communications; Advertising and Marketing; Sexual Objectification; Beauty Standardsameliacc@umich.edu


  • Dia-2015

    Vishnupriya Das

    Mobile Phones and New Media; Modernity and Migration; Gender and Media; Internet and Identity Formationdasv@umich.edu


  • Dawson-Andoh1

    Amy Dawson-Andoh

    Social media and Web 2.0; Fan cultures; Japanese fan culture; Japanese popular culture; Gaming cultureadawsona@umich.edu


  • Day2014

    Faithe Day

    Digital Humanities; Television Studies; New Media; Modern and Postmodern Philosophy; Identity Formationfjday@umich.edu


  • Sarah2014

    Sarah E. Erickson

    Media Psychology; Adolescent Sexual Socialization; Parasocial Relationships; Gender and the Mediasareri@umich.edu


  • Hawkins-2015

    Ian Hawkins

    Aggression; Media Psychology; Intergroup Relations; Psychology and Lawhawki@umich.edu


  • Nicole Hentrich

    Gender and sexuality; masculinities; television studies and visual culture; popular culturehentrich@umich.edu


  • Dan-2015

    Dan Hiaeshutter-Rice

    Political Communication; Communication Credibility; Public Opinion; Political Behaviordhrice@umich.edu


  • Iddins-2015

    Annemarie Iddins

    the politics of culture; globalization and cultural geography; modernity, migration and media activism; communication in the contemporary Maghrebamiddins@umich.edu


  • Kim, Dam hee

    Dam Hee Kim

    New and emerging media; Political communication; Marketing communication; Media managementdheekim@umich.edu


  • Kuru2

    Ozan Kuru

    media effects; public opinion; election studies; survey designokuru@umich.edu


  • Lane2014

    Dan Lane

    Media Psychology; Digital Narratives; Environmental/Health Communication; Social Changedanslane@umich.edu


  • Lawson-2015

    Caitlin E. Lawson

    Celebrity Studies; Popular Culture; Gender and the Media; Audience Receptionlawsonc@umich.edu


  • Sage-2015

    Slgi (Sage) Lee

    New and Emerging media; Deliberative Democracy; Cultural Citizenship; Gender and the Medialeesg@umich.edu


  • Sriram-2015

    Sriram Mohan

    Digital Politics; New and Emerging Media; Political Speech; Internet and Democracy; Mobile Communications; Online Communitiessriramm@umich.edu


  • Moorman-SpSum15

    Jessica D. Moorman

    media effects; body image; obesity; sex; health behavior; racemoorman@umich.edu


  • NavarGill

    Annemarie Navar-Gill

    Audience/Producer Interaction; Media Industries; Participatory Culture; Fan Studiesamngill@umich.edu


  • Kitior

    Kitior Ngu

    Media Industries; Television Production; Social Media & Television; New Media; Digital Media Cultures; Audiences and Fanskitior@umich.edu


  • Oh

    Yu Won Oh

    New and emerging media; Political communication and behavior; Public Opinion; Opinion expression; Online agenda developmentywoh@umich.edu


  • Pearson

    Benjamin A. J. Pearson

    International and Comparative Media; Analyzing Media Textsbenajp@umich.edu


  • Emily-2015

    Emily Saidel

    Television Studies; Media Industries; Paratextual Studies; Audience receptionesaidel@umich.edu


  • Stevenson

    Darren M. Stevenson

    New & Emerging Media; Marketing & Advertising; Internet Infrastructure; Information Systems; Computational Research Methodsdstev@umich.edu


  • Halie2014

    Halie Wenhold

    Communication (Broadcast Journalism, Media, General); Sociology; Fame Culture; Adolescent/Teenager Development; Cultivation Theory Researchhwenhold@umich.edu


  • Jana 2015

    Jana Wilbricht

    Health communication; Inequality Studies and health disparities; Health education; New and emerging media; Media narratives; American Indian Studiesjanawil@umich.edu


  • Lia-2015

    Lia R. Wolock

    Digital and transnational media; Mobility, migration, globalization, and identity; Media industries and production cultures; Participatory cultures and citizenship; South Asian and diasporic medialwolock@umich.edu


  • Yu2

    Rebecca Ping Yu

    New and emerging media; Political communication; Digital inequalityrpyu@umich.edu