Victor Vaughan Symposium

This year's Symposium is on August 7, 2015

Designed and run by graduate students, the Victor Vaughan Symposium serves as a venue for sharing exciting research taking place within the Department of Chemistry. 

The symposium is named in honor of Victor C. Vaughan (1851-1921) one of the first PhD graduates in Chemistry (1876). He later served as Dean of the Medical School (1891-1921) and president of the American Medical Association (1914-15).

Learn more at: Vaughan Symposium

2014 Victor Vaughan Symposium

More than 240 people attended the Vaughan Symposium on July 30, 2014. Designed and run by Michigan Chemistry graduate students, the symposium is a venue for sharing research taking place within the department. An annual tradition since 2003, the symposium helps foster collaborations, inspire new avenues of research, and nurture a growing sense of community within the Department. This year’s symposium was chaired by Kimberley Daley of the Kubarych group.

The morning keynote speaker was Michael E. Mills, Dow Core R&D Fellow, Dow Chemical Company. He spoke on “Material Science Enabled New Product Development.” The afternoon address, “From CO2 Hydrogenation by Solar Produced H2 to Photochemical Water Oxidation,” was delivered by Etsuko Fujita, Chemistry Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, NY.

Between the major addresses, six graduate students presented 25-minute talks:

  • Analytical: Wendi Hale, “Improved LC/FT-ICR MS for Interrogation of Natural Product Biosynthetic Enzymes‚ Au In Action, Au”
  • Materials: Casey Dougherty, “Increasing Fluorophore:Dendrimer Ratio Quenches Fluorescence Emission, Increases Cellular Uptake and Shows Different Intracellular Behavior in Fluorescence Lifetime”
  • Inorganic: EmilyNelson, “Enhanced Oxidative Stability of Magnesium Electrolytes through Modification of Lewis Acid/Base Pairs”
  • Physical: Bing Fu, "Distance-Dependent Plasmon-Induced Fluorescence Enhancement of Single Molecules on a Gold Nanoparticle Substrate”
  • Chemical Biology: Sriram Vaidyanathan, “Tracking the Transport of Intact DNA in Gene Delivery using FRET Labeled Beacons”
  • Organic: Zachary Miller, “Recent Advances in Regioselective Allene Hydrosilylation”

Three student posters sessions were held throughout the day. 

Award Winners

Awards were made for best posters and presentations. The Dow Chemical Foundation provides support for the travel awards. 

Poster Presentation Awards:

  • Analytical
    Colleen Dugan  (Kennedy); Matt Gunsch (Pratt); Phillip McClory (Hakkanson)
  • Chemical Biology 
    Meagan Cauble (Banaszak Holl); James Carolan (Mapp); Diana Stark (toxicology); Yu Chen (Pecoraro)

  • Inorganic
    Cameron Moore (Szymczak); Shawn Eady (Lehnert); Samuel Esarey (Bartlett); James Brancho (Bartlett)
  • Materials
    Danielle Zurcher (McNeil); Tim Zhang (Maldonado); Christopher Collins; Peter Goldberg  (McNeil)
  • Organic
    Grace Winschel  (Nagorny); Andrew Vitek  (Zimmerman); Jessica Stachowski  (Montgomery); Mattia Silvi  
  • Physical
    Andrew Molina (Zimmerman); Jessica Donehue (Biteen)

Travel Awards

1st place: $800 travel award
Emily Nelson- Inorganic -- Bartlett

2nd and 3rd place: $400 travel award
Sriram Vaidyanathan- Chem Bio -- Banaszak Holl
Zachary Miller- Organic -- Montgomery


2015 Symposium

The symposium is named in honor of Victor C. Vaughan (1851-1921), one of the first students to graduate from UM with a PhD in Chemistry (1876). Subsequently, he earned an MD (1878), and went on to a distinguished career in medicine, including serving as Medical School dean (1891-1921) and president of the AMA (1914-15).

Mark your calendar for the 2015 symposium on August 7, 2015. It will be followed by an informal dinner for students, postdoctoral fellows, and alumni. 

2013 Vaughan Symposium

More than 240 people attended the annual Vaughan Symposium on August 9, 2013. The keynote speaker was Jerzy Klosin, Dow Chemical Core R&D Fellow. The afternoon address was delivered by Andrei Tokmakoff, Henry G. Dale Distinguished Service Professor at the James Franck Institute and Institute for Biophysical Dynamics at the University of Chicago.

Also included were six 25-minute talks by graduate students and two student poster sessions. This year’s symposium was chaired by Heidi Phillips.

We are grateful to the Dow Chemical Foundation for their generous support of the awards made at the symposium.

Vaughan Symposium Awards

Dow Chemical Oral Presentation Travel Award: Brett Hopkins

Oral Presentation Travel Award:

  • Jeanne Hankett (Chen)
  • Rui Huang (Ramamoorthy

Poster Session Travel Awards
Analytical Cluster:

  • William Collin (Zellers)
  • Collen Dugan (Kennedy)
  • Ying Zhou (Kennedy)

ChemBio Cluster:

  • Meghan Breen (Soellner)
  • Jean Lodge (Mapp)
  • Sriram Vaidyanathan (Banaszak Holl)
  • Jessica Rabuck (Ruotolo)

Inorganic Cluster:

  • Monica Lotz (Sanford)
  • Fangting Yu (Pecoraro)
  • James Brancho (Bartlett)

Materials Cluster: 

  • Junsi Gu (Maldonado)
  • Laura Pfund (Matzger)
  • Laura Thoma (Kuroda)
  • Peter Goldberg (McNeil)

Organic Cluster:

  • Ian Pendleton (Zimmerman & Sanford)
  • Anna Wagner (Sanford)
  • Jeremiah Alicea (Wolfe)

Physical Cluster:

  • Beth Haas (Biteen)
  • Surma Talapatra (Geva)
  • Leslie Upton (Goodson)
  • Jessica Donehue (Biteen)

(Professors denoted by parentheses.)